Week 5.0: Infographics

Week 5 was all about infographics and self-tracking in the digital world.  The question that I have always had about sharing on the internet is: do we share to just share or are we intending to get likes? I find that whenever I am on Instagram, some accounts seem fabricated to me. I perfected version of the user’s life that they want you to see. I think that the social media culture is becoming less candid than it has been in the past.

I did a 24-hour self-tracking experiment the day after the lecture. Here is what I captured.

7:30am – The day started off with a bang with my iPhone alarm ringing to wake me up. As I went to go press the snooze button, my half asleep self accidently dropped it behind my bed. Wishing that there was a digital button to move my bed, I moved my bed so that I could grab my greatest possession.

8:00am – After that ordeal, I was already on my phone checking my social media and emails while I headed to my first class of the day

9:00am – Class ended and throughout the lecture, I was constantly switching between my notes and my Facebook page. This was happening subconsciously! I didn’t even realize until after.

9:30am – Now, I was off to the gym to get a workout in. I don’t enjoy running with my phone all that much but I do it anyways because it tracks my statistics.

img_3675

10:30am – 12:00am

From 10:30am and onwards, I found that my digital use kept going in cycles. I would step in and out of what I was actually doing in the real world and check my Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, text messages and emails. I realized that most of my day was consumed by me being on my phone. That’s gotta change! The digital space is great but once it starts to be your main priority, one should re-evaluate their usage.

Let’s move on to infographics. This lecture brought back some memories from this past February. I was still in high school back in the West at the time. I remember having to wake up at 4:30am for my RTA interview because it took place at 8:00am EST. So that meant I had to talk and write an essay at 5:00 in the morning! It was an interesting experience, to say the least. The writing prompt that I was given was an infographic. I had to read it and analyze the rights and wrongs of the graphic. Now knowing more about these designs from Laurie’s lecture, I found a couple that I feel represent a good infographic.

 

27199bea00000578-0-image-m-36_14276323253205ad348d433dc21fd11f2e09cfc78ed32

 

Leave a Reply

