Week 7: Blogger’s Choice – My Stop Motion Favourites

Week 7 = blogger’s choice = stop-motion favourites.

This week I’ve decided to explore the world of stop-motion. I was first exposed to this art form when I watched Wallace and Gromit when I  was maybe 7 or 8 years old. At the time I was amazed by the way this film looked. I couldn’t wrap my head around what made it different and why I was so intrigued. Fast forward a couple of years and I discovered the wonders of stop-motion.

For those of you who aren’t quite sure how stop-motion works are achieved, here’s a video that gives you the run-down.

 

3. Lucie Fink

Personally, I think what attracts me to this sort of presentation is the imperfectness of it. The rigid movements and use of sound in these productions are what I find appealing.  Mobile applications such as Vine, allow people to create 6-second videos (including stop-motion!) to upload and share with the world. Before, stop-motion was exclusive to filmmakers and animators alike. But, nowadays, anyone can pick up their phones and create one. Refinery29 blogger, Lucie Fink, owes her stop-motion creations on Instagram for landing her, her position.

2. Fantastic Mr. Fox

It wouldn’t be a proper post on my blog without mentioning Wes Anderson. In 2009, the indie director released a stop-motion film based on Roald Dahl’s Fantastic Mr. Fox. This film captures the same composition and cinematography as his other live action films. Rumour has it, Anderson’s next project is a stop-motion film about dogs. I am definitely going to see it.

1. Marcel the Shell with Shoes On

My all-time favourite stop-motion piece would be “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”. It is a quirky look at the life of Marcel the Shell. Written and performed by Jenny Slate, this comedic video shows the audience of a shell living a normal human life and the changes she has to make in order to adapt.

Leave a Reply

